Question from a frobtads newbie

Though I’m not new to TADS 3, I am new to trying to compile it using frobtads (on Ubuntu). So far I can’t compile anything, even though the files worked just fine under Windows. Here is the command I’ve been using:

t3make -I /usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib/adv3/en_us -I /usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib/adv3 -I /usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib second_project.t

This is the result:

compile /usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib/_main.t -> _main.t3o /usr/local/share/frobtads/tads3/lib/_main.t(115): error 11032: undefined symbol "main"

Any thoughts on what might be going on here?

What if you leave out the include parameters altogether and just try this?

t3make -f second_project

Assuming you have a second_project.t3m file in the same directory. Also if object files are going to an obj/ subdirectory, that may have to be created beforehand.

t3make uses your makefile. You do not need to supply any “-I” arguments. Either name your makefile “Makefile.t3m”, in which case you only need to call just:

t3make

and it will find it automatically, or use the “-f” argument to point it to your makefile:

t3make -f MyMakefile.t3m

You are setting the include paths with the -I options, but you need to specifically include the system and adv3 libraries using -lib options as well. It’s easiest to put all your command line options into a .t3m file and specify it on the command line with -f. So here’s a complete example that works on my system…

hello.t:

#charset "us-ascii"
#include <adv3.h>
#include <en_us.h>
versionInfo: GameID
    name = 't3make test'
;
gameMain: GameMainDef
    initialPlayerChar = me
;
startRoom: Room 'Start Room' "This is the starting room. "
;
+ me: Actor
;

hello.t3m:

-D LANGUAGE=en_us
-D MESSAGESTYLE=neu
-Fy obj
-Fo obj
-v

##sources
-lib system
-lib adv3/adv3
-source hello

Command line:

$ mkdir obj $ t3make -f hello.t3m