Putting an object in a wall?

Hi I am just starting out with Inform 7 and I have no idea how I get this done.

I want to have a an object (a brown brick) in the south wall of a room. It is supposed to be removable with another object (a scalpel).

Do I create a wall that is a container and make it a fixed object? The line “The south wall is a container. The brown brick is in south wall.” doesn’t seem to work. At least south wall is not showing up int he room description. I have no idea how to do the removing part. If someone could help me out here it would help a lot. Once I know how I make this work a lot of my planned stuff should become way easier.

There is a brick in the dungeon. Instead of taking the brick when the player does not have the scalpel, say “You have no way to pry it free.”
Rule for writing a paragraph about the brick when the brick is not handled: now the brick is mentioned.

Every once in a while, I forget how to keep things clean and simple. Nice job, Draconis – I probably would have done something much more fiddly.

I don’t think that will work if the player tries ‘remove brick from wall’ or ‘take brick from wall’.

True. You could use this in that case.

A wall is a scenery container in the Dungeon. There is a brick in the wall. [Etc.]

Ok this seems to work so far:

The wall is a scenery container in Start. There is a brown brick in the wall. Instead of taking the brick when the player does not have the scalpel, say "You have no way to pry it free."

How do I make the player though only take the brick if he uses the scalpel with it? I want the player to actually write “use scalpel with brick” or “remove brick with scalpel”.

You’ll need to create an entirely new action. Creating a new action is detailed in chapter 12.7 of Writing with Inform. Your results will look something like this:

[code]A thing can be stuck or unstuck. A thing is usually unstuck.

Prying is an action applying to two things.