Properties & attr aliases et al

Hi there,

I’ve recently discovered ZILF and I’m reading thru as many docs as possible to try and learn how to work with it. I’m just an adventure writer but I’ve always been deeply attracted by LISP as a programming language although it takes quite an effort to grasp the paradigm, given my basic programming background. I understand that I will only be able to work on the top most level, meaning the game definition layer, and forget about fiddling with the library or any MDL whatsoever. Anyways, i’ll endure!

A question here please: is there a way to create synonyms for properties and attributes at the game design level? Meaning I feel more comfortable using e.g. ISTURNEDON rather than ONBIT or any other -BIT combination. AFAIK, bit-synonym merely makes two pre existing props/attrs equivalent. But I can’t seem to find further reference in the existing docs.

Also, as to props/attrs, reading thru the several release notes of ZILF versions, there seems to be props/attrs renamed no longer compliant with Learning ZIL and, I guess, updated in the library but not documented elsewhere. Is it so?

Finally, while a bit confused by the several repositories of Infocom source codes available, I understand that ZILF 0.9 is capable of compiling these Infocom’s source code to working games, meaning ZILF is a fully operative system. Is it so? When is version 1 expected to be due?

I’m loving the beauty and simplicity of ZIL code, opposite to what the looks of Inform, while a terrific system, have always looked to me and have kept me away from trying it.

Thanks in advance!

0.9 is a misnumbered 1.