Problem with Patroller by Michael Callaghan

I’m trying to make a Patroller using this extension, and I set him to be Aimless (which means he wanders about at random), but I keep getting this error message.

*** Run-time problem P60: Attempt to set a variable to the wrong kind of object: you wrote ‘now Way is the best route from the CurrentRoom to the NextRoom, using even locked doors’, which sets the value to nothing - but that doesn’t have the kind ‘direction’.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Peter

BTW, I’m new at this. I’ve been working on my first game for about three days. You guys have been very helpful, so thank you.

Is the patroller in a room with no exits?

Wow, Groundhog Day! I am trapped into reliving the same intfiction.org posts again and again… :astonished: :wink:

Just joking, but coincidence has it that I answered this exact same question a couple of days ago: [url]https://intfiction.org/t/i7-with-patrollers-extension-v10-by-michael-callaghan/2337/1]. There is what I would consider a small bug in the Patroller extension, and I indicate in that topic how you can solve it.

Victor,

Thank you very much, sorry about the double post. Your fix seemed to do the trick. That particular run time error is gone. Now I get this one instead:

*** Run-time problem P60: Attempt to set a variable to the wrong kind of object: you wrote ‘now NextRoom is the Target’, which sets the value to nothing - but that doesn’t have the kind ‘room’.

I tried to adapt your fix from the first error by saying, “if the Target is a room;” but that didn’t work and I’m stuck again.

I gotta fix this though.

Peter