Problem going from Z-Code to Glulx in Inform V7

I just hit the wall on size in my Z-Code project in Inform V7, so I switched to Glulx. When I compiled, I received a number of errors because I used colored text in certain situations. I did some searching and found that Basic Screen Effects by Emily Short isn’t supported by Glulx. She instead wrote Glulx Text Effects, but I can’t figure out how to use it. First, is it a separate download, or do I just do an “include” line at the beginning? Second, I noticed that color values were numbers. Do you just put the numbers in brackets instead of [green letters]? It looked like maybe you have to define what you are doing with the text before you can even use any effects. Could someone translate the following into Glulx for me as an example? Looking at examples has been my best teacher so far.

say, “[green letters]testing[default letters].”

I’ve been working on my first adventure on and off for over 5 years now. I guess I should have started on something a little less ambitious for my first time, but it’s been a labor of love. I’m around 3/4 done, so I can’t cut enough to make it fit into Z-Code. I’m sure I’m not very efficient when it comes to using Inform either, but I can’t go back when I can finally start to see the light at the end. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Duane C

Glulx text effects comes with several colors, or “glulx color values”, defined, but not green, so the first thing to do is make an amendment to the table that declares colors. The glulx color value is traditionally g-whatever color name, and the assigned number is the decimal value of the hexidecimal color you want. (I just look up the hex value for the color I like in GIMP or on the web, and then use a web page that converts hex to dec.)

You can redefine any of the styles listed in the Table of User Styles, or there’s a couple of “free” user styles. I used one of these and filled out a row in the User Style table for it.