Possible Limitations with (Replace:)?

Twine Version 2.3.7
Story Format: Harlowe 3.1

Newbie here! I’m doing this action where if a reader has already visited a passage, new text would spawn instead of the original. If they keep revisiting, they would get different text, up until 3 visits.

(if: (count: (history:), "Meet the Kitchen") is 1)[(replace: "Original Text.")[New Text]]
(else-if: (count: (history:), "Meet the Kitchen") is 2)[(replace: "Original Text.")[New Text 2.0]]
(else-if: (count: (history:), "Meet the Kitchen") is > 2)[(replace: "Original Text.")[New Text 3.0]]

This works perfect…until the original text has a line break or dialogue in it? If I write:

(if: (count: (history:), "Meet the Kitchen") is 1)[(replace: "Original "Text".")[New Text]]
(if: (count: (history:), "Meet the Kitchen") is 1)[(replace: "Original Text.
Here's a New Line.")[New Text]]

the (replace:) is either seen as an “Unexpected identifier” or it doesn’t take at all, just leaving the Original Text up instead of the New Text. I’ve messed around with it enough to find out that everything goes haywire until I make the original text as one block with no quotations. Is this the limitations of replace or am I possibly writing this wrong? Thanks!

I would advise against using the (replace:) macro to achieve the result you want, when you can do the same with the (if:) macro structure itself. I would also advise using a temporary variable to store the result from the call of the (count:) macro because the (history:) macro needs to generated the array of Passage Names it returns.

The following achieves the result you asked for, as in it shows a different block of text depending on how many times the reader has visited the Library Passage. Just replace the short text in each of the associated hooks with the long text you want shown.

(set: _count to (count: (history:), "Library"))\
(if: _count is 1)[This is your first visit to the library.....]
(else-if: _count is 2)[Back again already???]