Playing sounds one after another

Is there a way to play sounds one after another? With something like this,

Instead of listening: Play the sound of Sound-1; Play the sound of Sound-2.

you end up hearing only one of the sounds. I also tried the Multiple Sounds extension, but as far as I can tell, it doesn’t address this.

Hi bg.

If you mean to play them consecutively - Ie when the first one ends, the next one begins - there is some sound notification code in Glulx that was meant to allow for this (it should alert you when a sound ends, which you could use to then start the next one) but in practice it doesn’t work because of the way Glulx polls for certain kinds of events happening. I experimented with it extensively, and other people better at the advanced Inform coding (Erik Temple plus some other onlookers) confirmed my findings.

I’m an assistant author of Multiple Sounds, and I’d have added this functionality if it had worked.

The workaround is doable, but tedious to program.

There is a timer in Glulx. You can start it running and it counts how much real time is passing. And Glulx is good at reacting when the timer hits a target you’ve set.

So the way I do this kind of thing is: First, you have to take note of how long each of your sounds is in milliseconds. Let’s say sound 1 is 1.5 seconds long. So that’s 1500 ms.

Then, in your game, when you play sound 1, you start the glulx timer and ask it to get back to you after 1500 milliseconds. When it reports back, you stop the timer, start playing sound 2, and ask the timer to get back to you after (the length of sound 2), etc.

This is the programming approach. I don’t think the situation has changed in terms of the arrival of the new Inform, or the implementation of the most recent version of Glulx’s sound code in interpreters, to get around this yet. Someone else can chime in if this is incorrect.