Place for absolute newbies to share projects?

I don’t know if this is a good question. I’m usually a forum-averse person because I’m always afraid there are unsaid rules of etiquette that I’ll accidentally break. but people here seem nice

After spending some time nosing around in the source code of some of my favorite games, today I downloaded Inform and started tinkering using what I gleaned from them to make something and reading whatever popped up when I made a mistake to fix it. Imagine my surprise when ~3 hours later I had something that runs, has rooms, does anything at all, and even has something resembling a puzzle to solve. Is there an existing thread or other kind of place where newbies can marvel at our creations and look at each others simple projects to see the way other people who know little are working things out?

14 Likes

It might be nice to have a snippets thread or something like that! A lot of us use snippets to demonstrate code. They embed in forum posts and can even compile.

There’s a character limit; for bigger projects we’d have to do something else.

I’m a bit of a beginner, so I would be interested in whatever comes of this.

6 Likes

That’s actually a good question. I’m not an Inform 7 user, but the question is appropriate to everyone.

If the game is very early in the development phase, I think most people would put it on GitHub, GitLab or itch.io and ask people to look at it from there. In the case of itch.io, you can mark the project as “In development” and protect it with a password so that it’s not available for public consumption.

You can ask people to look at it in the Beta Testing category on the forum. Just make sure that they know what you expect of them.