ParserComp 2021 ~ Less than 7 days to go!

​Quick update! As always it’s a massive thanks to everyone for getting behind and involved in ParserComp 2021! The number of actual submissions has already surpassed what I had in mind (using my 10% rule, as expressed before!) so I dare to dream that there may be 1-2 more before the end of the month. But hey, if not, still a great response!

As you may know this is my first year running the comp and whilst it had been run before there was a gap of some years, meaning there was no handover of any sort. For the most part I think things have gone well so far, I have noted down a couple of rule addendums around visibility of submitted games and uploading additional/corrected files during voting; both of which I will need to address in next years rules (should everyone be in favour of continuing next year). For this year however I chose not to make any rule amendments as there hasn’t been anything that has been a showstopper - but rest assured it has been noted.

Thanks all!

Adam :slightly_smiling_face: :v:

7 Likes

Don’t I need to join something/somewhere to enter? If so, a good thing to remind people how to, at least on this update post.

1 Like

[I’m not a comp official and this isn’t official advice, just happy to help]

The competition is being run as a “jam” on itch.io at https://itch.io/jam/parsercomp-2021. If you don’t have an itch.io account you’ll need to create one (it’s an excellent site for hobbyist devs to host our games, in any case.) Then sign up to the jam from its own page.

You can then create a project on itch and upload your game there. Set the “visibility settings” to Draft or Restricted so that it isn’t publicly visible before the judging starts, then shortly before the submission deadline you can change it to Public.