Overriding putting things inside things in Inform 7

I’m attempting to override the standard rules about containers in Inform 7. I am new to Inform 7, I used to code in Inform 6 back in the 90s. Here’s the problem:

Before putting the bottle in the bottle, instead say “Felix Klein would be proud.”

This only results in

Problem. You wrote ‘Before putting the bottle in the bottle’ , which seems to introduce a rule taking effect only if the action is ‘putting the bottle in the bottle’. But that did not make sense as a description of an action. I am unable to place this rule into any rulebook.

I am attempting to override the standard impossible put with a new rule that does not follow the standard rules to create a puzzle. (Much more complex than just putting things inside themselves, but I got stumped by this simple action).

I’m on the move right now, but shouldn’t it be “before inserting the bottle into the bottle”?

The put in actions is an old problem. Yes, the action is actually ‘inserting it into’.

Ah, the trouble was with the word ‘in.’ I had to be more specific, i.e. use ‘into.’ Thanks. I hope to create a short traditional IF adventure with some clever puzzles, while learning Inform 7. I’ve forgotten most about Inform 6 anyway, and never published “Rushes”, my first serious foray into IF. The working title of the current game would give too much away, but I hope my question didn’t give away too much of the content. Unconventional solutions to puzzles that require a bit of thinking, but not too hard, I hope.

Thanks again.

Why can’t Inform accept put? It’s the old standard IF verb. Get/put, instead of take/insert, when memory was scarce. Inform 7 just caught me with a “guess the verb” problem when those kinds of puzzles have all but disappeared from the face of the genre. :wink: