Optimizing for z-code readable memory limitations?

I’m bumping up against the readable memory limitations of z-code. I’ve already had to “use memory economy” to compile my game, so I know I pretty much can’t add new content without switching to glulx (which I am considering). I am guessing there have to be some ways of optimizing for z-code in Inform 7. I’m not really a programmer, so I don’t know what I’m doing here. Any advice on getting this under control?

If you’re not relying on any particular Z-Machine features, there’s no reason not to switch to Glulx, and it’s extremely simple to do (via radio button on the Settings tab).

If you are relying on particular Z-Machine features and don’t want to give it up, then it’s best to be aware of which Inform 7 features require the most readable memory due to their implementation at the I6 level. Lists and “mutable” text (i.e. strings that can change) are particular culprits; both can demand heavy use of a heap memory structure that is set up to handle run-time temporary allocation needs.

Will you explain a bit more about your project and what you think the most memory-consuming portions might be?

1 Like

I’ve been working on an iterative project called Locked Door while learning to use Inform 7. It’s my first Inform project that has actually resulted in a a playable game. I started with the absolute smallest prototype I could imagine that still resembled a text adventure (two rooms separated by a locked door, a key that unlocks the door, and a trophy item in the second room that triggers an ending when taken). Every iteration, I try to fix the mistakes I’ve found in the previous iteration, add new content that makes the game more interesting, and learn something new.

I’m not really a programmer and am not very experienced with Inform. I’m implementing my ideas the only way I know how, so it’s hard for me to guess what I might be doing wrong.

If by “mutable text” you mean things like