Open source IF format

I am quite new to the domain of IF. More specifically; I’ve just met Marvin, seen a Dam made by zorknids and got killed (?) by Galatea when I tried to turn her as soon as game started.
But being the crazy programmer (HEEEHAHAHA), I immidiately jumped to create an game engine to create and play IF in Python. (Yes, I tried Inform7 but the pseudo-english coding made me mad; maybe because I am not a native english speaker.)
Anyway, what actually drove me off the hook was that the standard for creating IF, Z-Code, is not open source in itself. As far as I understand (and correct me if I am wrong), the Z-code’s source is proprietary code of Activision now. And as that was never made public, there’s no way we can properly understand the thing completely by reverse-engineering it alone. Then why not create a new, open-source standard- something analogous to EPUB in e-Books. (I read about Glulx but the wikipedia article wasn’t clear whether the format is open or not). Is Z-code so good in itself that there’s no need to create something new?

Hello and welcome!

Inform 7 is not the only IF system around; others are more like traditional programming languages. There’s one for Python as well. (There’s also PyF which never really took off in any way.)

Well yes, the Z-machine is reverse-engineered from Infocom story files and interpreters, but it doesn’t mean that it isn’t fully understood. It’s very possible that some minor nuances of Infocom’s vision are lost, but in practice the functionality of modern interpreters that support the format and systems that compile to it are fully understood, which is the only thing that matters. Z-machine does have limitations but none of them are because we wouldn’t understand how it works.

It is.

To turn the question around: Why create a new standard? Is there a need to create something new?