Odd Effects if Stdlib is listed before the source file of the game to Dgdebug

As per the title, if the stdlib is included before the source file of the game in the dgdebug command call, there will be odd effects. Every location will be known as “location”, and have no description, for example.

This is unexpected, and led to me being confused, and doubting my own program (especially as I am new to Dialog); ordinarily, I would expect the order of files included to have no effect, or for the program to warn me if I pass a list of files that is not sensible. Perhaps the stdlib could be included by default, and a specific flag (say, --stdlib) used if the author wants to include a different stdlib?

4 Likes

Thank you for this valuable feedback!

The order of the files is significant, because the order of rule definitions is significant. And early rules can override later rules, so the story (with specific rules) needs to come before the library (with generic rules).

Extensions such as stddebug.dg should normally go between the story and the library, because they override/modify library functionality, and the story can override/modify them in turn.

Here are three reasons for requiring the library filename on the commandline:

1. There is no need to keep a stdlib.dg in a default, system-wide location. That way lies all kinds of versioning trouble.

2. The operation of the compiler should be transparent and understandable. (The exception is the optimizer, which is allowed to do magic as long as the functional result is the same.) It is important that the story author understands—at some point—that the order of rule definitions is significant, that the rules of one file are encountered before the rules of another, and that the library is just an ordinary source code file.

3. If we automate the common case, we only postpone the trouble (and corresponding insight) until the author tries to use their first extension.