Newbie: Scenery and Unique Actions

I am very new to Inform and am finally giving writing IF a go. I’ve been tearing through tons of examples online, but I’m not sure what the recommended methods are for my three basic questions.

When I drill down into detail about a room, should I just constantly create a new item with “Is scenery” for each detail the player may want to look at. Putting aside my OCD attention to detail :slight_smile:, I have a room, which has a table, which when looked at has some odds and ends like “scattered plates”, and the plates are stained from last nights meal. None of this is there for game play purposes or are usable items. I don’t want the table to support objects or plates to be picked up. It’s all just dressing if a player wanted to dig deep into details just for the fun of it.

Should I create each of these as:

A table is here. Table is scenery. “The table…”
A plate is here. Plate is scenere. “The plate…”
A stain is here. Stain is scenere. “The stain …”
With corresponding: understand “plates” as plate.

Will that create issues having so many objects or lines of code? Should I write is as some sort of command: Instead of “x table” say “The table has four legs…”? Or is creating a multitude of scenery objects simply the price to pay for going nuts with details?

Second question, if I write a new action such as “scrub floor”, how does Inform know it applies only to a specific room where scrubbing is important to the story versus a command of scrubbing that I want available no matter where the player goes?

Third question, if I want to help guide a player away from actions that I don’t want, must I define the action first, then create another line of what to say in place of “That’s not a verb I recognise.” Two separate lines? Or is there an easier way to write one line that accomplishes ‘instead of doing an action you dont understand, just say this’?

Thank you,

Tom / Hardwater