Newbie rulebook question

Newbie here. Helping dd with a simple game she is designing.

The player is collecting ingredients from the pantry and putting them on the counter in the next room, the Kitchen. I want to avoid this sort of message:

[size=85]>e

Pantry
Inside the walk-in pantry are numerous dry goods labeled and stacked on shelves.

You can see a bag of flour, a container of baking soda, and a box of sugar here.

take sugar
you can put the box of sugar on the counter if it’s heavy.

put sugar on counter
You can’t see any such thing.
[/size]

I tried using this, but I still get the error message:

Instead of putting anything on counter when player is in Pantry:
now player is in Kitchen;
now noun is on counter;
now player is in Pantry.

Thank you!

So just to make sure: the walk-in pantry is implemented as a room connected to the kitchen, and you want the game to assume the player wants to go back into the kitchen when they try to set something on the counter (since the counter is actually in the kitchen).

I believe you want to handle this as a two-parter. First, you need to put the counter “in scope” from the pantry, which means that you can see it from there (otherwise, Inform assumes rooms are basically opaque boxes, which is why you’re getting the “can’t see any such thing” message). You can learn about scope in chapter 17.27, and here’s the gist of what you’ll want to do:After deciding the scope of the player when the player is in the Pantry: [tab]place the counter in scope.