Newbie here but hardly a newbie to IF

I just spent hours on rec.arts.int-fiction reading posts and trying to acclimate myself to the froup. They sent me here. No problem, just another bump in the wheel.

This was my post there. I would like to chat about this with some people that have current knowledge about the IF situation and the best tools for authoring them.

I just read through the last six months worth of posts. Yes, it took a little while.

I am old enough to remember the golden days of Infocom and their ilk.

Based upon what I have read here, why should I even be here?

I have some ideas to get the art form back up and running. It isn’t the “ancients” like me; it is my grandchildren. My oldest granddaughter is now reading, likes figuring things out, and Zork is a little too complicated for her. We need some games that challenge the beginners. I am creating one specifically for her, but I have six more behind her. Not all of them will enjoy reading, writing, and interacting, but we have a lot of children who can utilize this kind of medium to enhance reading, put sentences together (an enhanced parser to help) and interact with the story.

How about some discussions about things like this? Technology behind doing it? Parser issues? Feedback? Storylines? Appropriate content? Desirable stories?

Unless I happen to hit the jackpot, I am not looking to become a professional author of IF. I just want my grandchildren to read, write, think, and interact a lot better than their contemptoraries (intentionally misspelled) in school.

These games from a competition a few years back might be of interest, especially the first two: ifwiki.org/index.php/IFBeginnersComp