New to Inform: A Few Key Scenarios

Hey all,

I’m new to writing with Inform 7. I’m a more traditional author with limited programming experience. I discovered it after playing a game and thought this might be a unique way to present some of my stories. Problem is… after nearly three weeks of going over the manuals and the Recipe Book, I’m still making remarkably little progress on some of the things I’m attempting.

I get the impression that these are simple things, which bothers me even more.

Still, I feel that if I can come to understand the mechanics behind these simple things, that the rest will fall into place. I appreciate any and all help toward that end.

In order to demo some of the features I’m trying to learn, I’m going to use a simple scenario of the player (a male) with three rooms. One room (the Ballroom) is empty and where the player starts. To either side are a Lounge and a Private Room, each with a different female NPC in them. Let’s call them Mary and Alice.

First Problem: I have been trying to set it up so that if I say ‘dance with Mary’ it will describe the dancing in one way, and if I say ‘dance with Alice’ it will describe the dancing in a completely different way. Say Mary dances the tango and Alice dances a waltz. When I attempt this, however, I7 will play the same description first, thus making both Mary and Alice do the tango. How can I set it up so that the ‘dancing’ action has completely different effects depending on who is targeted?