New to Inform 7

I just downloaded Inform 7, and i don’t know much about it at all. I have TADS 3 as well, but it is even more complicated. Well, first off i am not a programmer and know nothing about computer code. I had might as well be staring at an alien language. I was just wondering if anyone had any tips or hints that might make this easier for me. I’m good at making rooms…who couldn’t figure that out through the manual, and traveling between rooms. I can make objects and put them in the room, but, honestly, everything else is complicated. I know i sound like a moron, but i just can’t comprehend the code, or something. Maybe someone can give me simple codes with an understandable explaination.

BlueBlood–the best examples are probably those in the in-program manual itself. Work through it slowly, make sure you understand all the examples, and I’m sure you can make an easy game in little time.

Alternatively, think up something relatively non-complicated that you would like to program, try it out, then ask us if you can’t figure out how to do it. For instance, try the following three tasks in succession:

1. Make an apple that the player character can eat.
  2. The same, but now you get to see a custom message “That’s one tasty apple!”, when you eat it.
  3. The same, but now you have to get the apple from a closed chest first.
  4. The same, but now the player dies immediately after eating the apple.

You’ll have learned quite a number of basic Inform 7 ideas once you’ve completed these steps. :slight_smile:

I know the feeling. I’ve downloaded just about every IF authoring system I’ve heard about and have played with all of them a little. It’s fun to make rooms and objects, but once that pleasure wares off, it’s very frustrating not to know how to get the system to do what you have in your head.