New game, "Trouble in the Workshop"

Hey, folks. I’m new to the IF scene, so I thought I’d come by and say hello with my first entry into the medium.

I grew up playing IF, but it only recently occurred to me that I could actually write some, if I wanted to. So in a prodigious, week-long coding binge, I taught myself Inform 7 and wrote two games. The first one was just a fun demo for myself and some friends so that I could learn the language, but this one, “Trouble in the Workshop”, is a full-on release that I’m rather proud of. It’s a Steampunk-inspired adventure game that primarily focuses on discovery and problem-solving.

In this game, you play the laboratory assistant of the brilliant and eccentric Doctor Edgar von Winterstein. However, when he leaves you alone in his workshop for the first time, things go awry. Will you escape with your life? Or will you make a discovery that will change the fate of the world? It’s up to you!

Trouble in the Workshop, via Parchment: http://iplayif.com/?story=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.austinsirkin.com%2Ftrouble3.zblorb

As I’m a newcomer to the IF scene, I would really love to hear what some veteran IF players think of the game. I believe I’ve ironed out all (or almost all) of the game bugs, so I don’t particularly need playtests, per se, just feedback on enjoyment, play style, command usage, difficulty, etc. Does the game feel polished? Do I need more custom messages for various objects? Is it engaging? Stuff like that.

Thanks, and I look forward to, erm, interacting more with the IF community! =)

Hey, Austin.

One of the pieces of advice that we repeat a lot: always test your game, even if you think it doesn’t need it. Other eyes are going to catch things that you’ve missed. And crediting testers is a signal that you’re taking your game seriously - that it’s not a coding exercise, a game jam/speed-IF piece, or a joke. Given how many half-assed games there are in the world, that’s useful information.