New action with non-object variable

Hi! I’m just getting started with Inform7, and I’ve been trying to figure out if I can create a new action with a non-object variable that modifies/determines the output.
Basically, I’m talking about adverbs. The sandboxy project I’m working on (not a full game, just for fun!) is a modified conversation system based on replies, e.g.:

However, I’ve been combing through the documentation, and can’t find any workarounds that might support a system like that. I’ve hacked together something functional with Mark Tilford’s Simple Chat, because the node structure works pretty well for me, but I’d really prefer the flexibility of a more traditional parser input that would also allow for breaking out of the conversational thread (changing the topic etc.) without being too overt about it. And of course, I’m just curious to see if it can be done at all.
At this point I’m pretty much out of ideas, so any advice would be appreciated!

Two ways you can approach this: you can either make the adverbs into secret hidden things, and place them in scope only when replying. (See Example 350.)

Or you can make the replying action pertain to text rather than objects:

Understand "reply [text]" as replying.

You’d then use ‘the topic understood’ to refer to that text. See 16.5: The text token.

The second option is probably quicker and easier; the first option will give you more flexibility. (You might run into trouble if you want an action that takes two nouns and an adverb, though.)

Thanks so much, that is really helpful! I’ll try it both ways and see how it works out. :slight_smile:

A third approach would be to make the adverbs a kind of value. If you called the kind of value “intonation,” then you would make your action apply to one intonation, and use “the intonation understood” to refer to the intonation the player entered.

[code]Intonation is a kind of value. The intonations are aggressively, pacifically, and firmly.