New action problems.

I’m trying to make a lantern which can be turned on by using the verb “light” so it would be written as “light lantern”, the problem is I can’t seem to get the action set up right. I’m an extreem noob but this is what I have.

[code]The Bedroom is a room.

A thing can be lightable or nonlightable. A thing is usually nonlightable.

Lighting is an action applying to one thing. understand “light [something]” as lighting.
Check lighting:
if the noun is nonlightable, say “I just wanted to light it on fire, but decided against it.” instead.

The lantern is in the Bedroom. The lantern is lightable. The description of the lantern is “The lantern was nothing special, simply a glass gas lamp made by the local smith and bolted to the wall.”
Instead of lighting the lantern: if the lantern is unlit, now the lantern is lit; say “I reached up to the nob which controlled the gas flow, giving it a slight twist. After a quick tap on the starter the flame burst into life.”
[/code]

unfortunately when I type “light lantern” I get the message, “This dangerous act would achieve little” I mean it seems like inform already has a rule for lighting, though I cant find it in the documentation, but if I delete the rule for lighting I get the error “You wrote ‘Instead of lighting the lantern’ , which seems to introduce a rule taking effect only if the action is ‘lighting the lantern’. But that did not make sense as a description of an action. I am unable to place this rule into any rulebook.” I am at a complete loss.

In this sort of situation, the manual isn’t the right place to find what you need. You want the Index tab and the testing commands.

For actions, the most useful commands are ACTIONS and RULES. Enter those commands, then try your action:

So we now know two things: the action is called ‘burning’, and it fails because of the ‘block burning rule.’