Multiples of the same kind of thing with different effects

So I’m a newbie to Inform 7 and am finding myself oddly fixated on trying to make something happen. This forum has been wildly helpful so far in overcoming most of my stumbling blocks. I’m a web developer for a living so I’m used to coding, but I think I’m being thrown off by this almost-natural-language-that-doesn’t-look-structured-but-actually-is…

Anyway, I am trying to make a box of raisins in which every raisin has a different effect on the player’s mood. I’ve defined a value “effect” that can be happy, neutral, or sad. I want them all to be sad to start with, and a few of them be happy. (I did try calling the effects “positive” and “negative” but those seem to be reserved words, so… happy and sad it is!)

A raisin is a kind of thing. A raisin is always edible. A raisin has an effect. A raisin is sad.
A box of raisins is in Kitchen.
A box of raisins is a container. 
A raisin called first raisin is in a box of raisins. First raisin is sad. The description of first raisin is "It looks very raisin-ish."
A raisin called second raisin is in a box of raisins. Second raisin is happy. The description of second raisin is "It seems like a raisin."
A raisin called third raisin is in a box of raisins. The description of third raisin is "Confirmed: raisin."
A raisin called fourth raisin is in a box of raisins. The description of fourth raisin is "Yeah. It's a raisin."
A raisin called fifth raisin is in a box of raisins. The description of fifth raisin is "What were you expecting?"

Now, here is what I’m trying to do - I want it to check any raisin and increase or decrease the mood accordingly. But I can’t seem to get the phrasing on the IF statement:

After eating a raisin:
	say "testing - [effect]";
	if effect of a raisin is happy:
		increase the mood of the player by 1;
		say "Tastes like raisin. Not bad. Your mood is [mood of the player].";
	otherwise:
		decrease the mood of the player by 1;