Moving the player.

Hi everyone,
Complete newbie here. This is my first attempt to do anything with inform 7. All I’m trying to do is move the player to a Given location. But every time I type “Move the player to location.” it will not complie and gives me the error that it can’t understand the verb? Example follows :-

JumpA is a room. The description is “Room A”.
JumpB is a room. The description is " Room B". Move the player to JumpC.
JumpC is a room. The description is “Room C”.

error message :-

Problem. You wrote ‘Move the player to JumpC’ : but I can’t find a verb here that I know how to deal with, so I am ignoring this sentence altogether. Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong?

See the manual: 2.17 > Review of Chapter 2: The Source Text

I know the example isn’t very practical, but I was trying to keep it simple. I’ve also tried “Now the player is in location.”. This compiles but doesn’t do anything(i.e the player doesn’t move)

When do you want to move the player to JumpC? The “move the player” command only works within a rule that tells you under what circumstances the player is supposed to be moved. For instance, you could have the player move when he tries to perform a certain action:

Instead of singing: Move the player to JumpC.

or you could have the player move when certain conditions are fulfilled:

Every turn when the player is in JumpB: move the player to JumpC.

You could even move them at the very start of play:

When play begins: move the player to JumpC.

Although if you’re going to do that, you probably just want to use a special kind of assertion that says where things are at the beginning:

The player is in JumpC. [This puts the player in JumpC at the beginning of play; it doesn't do anything in the course of play.]