Modeling a crowd

I’m trying to create in Inform a system I recall from an old MUD I used to play on, but with a few other ideas I came up with. I want to create crowds. Not every room has a crowd, but I’d rather add them automatically to certain kinds of rooms without having to individually create them. Crowds can be either small or large. Unfortunately, I can’t quite get Inform to do what I want.

Crowd size is a kind of value. Crowd size is none, small or large. Crowd size is usually none.

A crowd is a kind of thing. “A [crowd size] crowd mills about.”

A crowd has a crowd size.

A crowd is in every room.

Of course, this prints “A none crowd mills about.” in rooms where I don’t intend for there to be a crowd, and presumably lets you interact with the crowd (“examine crowd”) for instance. If there is no crowd, you shouldn’t be able to interact with it.

What I initially tried was something like (pseudocode, I’m a non-Inform coder trying to familiarize myself with its natural language syntax):

A room is either crowded or uncrowded. A room is usually uncrowded.

Then:

A crowd is in every crowded room.

But this threw an error about that not being possible because the property could change. If I could mark the crowded/uncrowded property as const that’d be fine, since that property will never change, and presumably that would fix the error. Not sure if this is possible, though.