Mary's IFComp 2022 reviews

I was a first-time author last year, and deeply appreciated everyone’s incredibly thoughtful reviews.

I’m going in pretty much blind, so am basing my choices on blurbs that appeal to my sensibilities (sf/romance/mystery/horror/FEELINGS). At the time of writing this intro, I suspect I will focus on shorter, choice-based games, but will branch out if I have time.

Thank you everyone for all your hard work, I’m really looking forward to playing :sparkles:

14 Likes

Use Your Psychic Powers at Applebee’s, by Geoffrey Golden

“Use Your Psychic Powers at Applebee’s” has an excellent title that tells you exactly what you will be doing, and the game itself is similarly precise. It takes place entirely in one setting (Applebee’s, which I had to google because I’m in the UK), and you do indeed spend pretty much the entire time seeing inside other people’s brains courtesy of your psychic powers.

Crucially, you’re not at Applebee’s for fun, but to use your supernatural gifts to sell beer for your corporate overlords. The idea is to read people’s minds until you can tell they’re susceptible to suggestion, then implant a thought into their head about how they might like to drink some refreshing Schtupmeister beer. If you picked the right moment, they’ll buy a beer, and your employer will be pleased. It’s a straightforward objective, and on my first playthrough the desire to sell lots of beer guided all my decisions. However, “Use Your Psychic Powers at Applebee’s” goes further, and I quickly realised that there is more going on with the people of Applebee’s than I initially realised, and selling beer might not be the most interesting thing I could do with my powers.