Mapping physical space

Hi, I’m new.
I’m not that good at asking questions, but I do have a concern. Usually when I have a question on the internet, I simply describe my approach to something and then ask for feedback. So, I’m just getting into Inform 7, with almost no previous programming experience, but a long-standing desire to write IF. My first learning project is to “map” out my neighbourhood. The finished project will serve as something like a tour, describing the buildings and such, which adding in my memories, etc. The next layer will add some sort of an autobiographical story–so that “you” in the text represents me..

Anyway, this past weekend I went on a walk with a stopwatch and a quad-ruled composition book. Since I knew that, from my apartment to the east, the first “room” I wanted was the local bakery, I timed the walk. Three minutes. Thus, the basic unit of distance from room to room would be however far I could walk in three minutes. I made a few minor adjustments if I came across a spot I knew I wanted to write into the project. But you know what? I’ve got an issue. How do I convey this sense of travel? There were times when I wanted to produce some text between rooms. That is, I don’t want the user interacting with them, or even trying to, because they aren’t features of the space, but of the experience of walking through the neighbourhood.