Manipulating user input with "topic understood"

Hi Folks, I’m pretty new to I7 and I suspect my programming background may be hurting me.
After tearing out some handfuls of hair, I finally got something work, but now I’m back to tearing out more…
The following works:

[code]A selector has some text called current setting. The current setting is usually "K".
There is a selector in the cave. "There is a generator here". The description is "The generator is marked K/G/O. It is currently set to [current setting].".
Understand  "sel" and "select" as selector.
Setting is an action applying to one thing and one topic.
Understand "set [selector] [text]" as setting.
Check setting something when the noun is not a selector: instead say "That doesn't have a setting.".
Check setting something when the current setting of the noun is the topic understood: instead say "It is already on that setting.".

Carry out setting:
	now the current setting of the noun is the topic understood;
	Report setting: say "The selector is now set to [current setting].".

What I can’t seem to get to work is manipulating the text returned by “topic understood”. Every attempt to use it in if/otherwise statements fails, despite the many variations I’ve tried. What I’d like to do is take the user’s text and: 1) make sure it is in the form of k, g, or o and 2) convert it to upper case before storing it into the current setting. I7 doesn’t seem to want me to change anything in “topic understood” and I’ve not found how to cast it into anything like a string variable that I could mess with. I’m sure I must be missing something quite simple, but I have searched the docs, the internet, and even spent some very interesting time with chatGPT, but all resulted in abject failure. If this keeps up, I will surely turn into a bald man, but at least my back is hairless already…

Try this:

The cave is a room.
A selector has some text called current setting. The current setting is usually "K".