Making the player remember the rooms they have visited?

Hey Everyone

I am currently still very new with Inform 7, and i have a quick question about making the player remember things.
I am currently using the extension “Inline Hyperlinks by Erik Temple” to provide a link for the possible room to enter and exit from. But as i continued to add rooms i realised that the links aren’t going to dynamically help the player that much if they only say “You can go [north]”. Of course that makes sense if the player is exploring, but if the player has already visited that room it should say “You can go [north] to [Previously visited room]”. The idea is to make it dynamic with a rule to simple stay [Exits] and then it states the Exits with the adjacent rooms names stated if visited before. I already now how to write it in without that, but making it dynamic would make things easier no doubt.
Is there any common way of doing this?

"You can go [link]east[end link][if the Antechamber is visited] to the Antechamber[end if]."

Or if you want to make it a bit more automatic at the cost of sometimes unnatural prose depending on the room names:

[code]To say to (place - a room): if the place is visited, say " to [the place]".

“You can go [link]east[end link][to the Antechamber].”[/code]

Note the lack of a space before the [to].

Another thing you can do is give the player a list of visited rooms:

Carry out taking inventory: say "You have been to [the list of visited rooms]."

Thanks guys, exactly what i was looking for! :slight_smile:

i have a last question though, since i think i could have figured it out with some luck if i knew that inform 7 actually knows what “a place” is. Is there like a glossary of words and values that inform 7 understands?

In this case, “place” is not a word that Inform understands, but one that is defined by this part of the rule:

To say to (place - a room)

This would also have worked: