making a key pad

Hi, I am very new to IF and IF programming. And by very new I mean I played my first IF game last week which was ZORK and that was only because it is playable in the new Call of Duty video game. Well I became very interested and have played some simple games and now have decided that I want to start writing IF. I have decided to write a small game to get my self acclimated with the Inform programming language.

My game is based around my house and the player has to escape the house. I figured this was an easy way to help me create rooms and things that are in those rooms because I could base it all off of my house. Well there are obviously some things that I have made different but that’s not really why I am here.

I am trying to make a keypad that opens a door. I would like the player to say something like examine keypad. This will tell them how to enter the code. Then they will enter a code and if its the right code then the door becomes unlocked. Here is what I have done so far.

[code]understand “enter code [something]” as entering code.

check entering code:
if the noun is the key pad:
say “You should now type in the code to unlock the garage door”;
otherwise:
say “There is nothing here to enter a code on.”

the key pad is a thing in the laundry room. it is fixed in place. key pad has a number called keycode. the keycode of the key pad is 1234.

understand “keypad” as key pad.

the garagedoor is a door. it is locked.

understand “garage door” as garagedoor.

the garagedoor is north of the laundry room and south of the garage.[/code]

so what i would like is somehow after telling the person to enter a code that the next thing entered would be compared to the number keycode and if it is correct then the door unlocks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.