Making a "Gone Home-esque" style Horror text game?

This is my very first attempt at trying to make an interactive fiction/text game. The idea for this game came about because I wanted to try out a few different stories using the same settings, characters, backgrounds, etc. But I was trying to do that with a few weird fiction ideas, in the form of a few short stories/novellas.

Unfortunately I had a hard time trying to make it work in a linear narrative form so I decided it would be better suited for a text game. But being that this is my first attempt, that might prove more difficult depending on how big or complicated I wish to make it.

So far I’m starting off with a game that would sort of be like “Gone Home” but in a text game format. Basically, you the player/character, would search through your friend’s/brother’s house to find clues regarding his disappearance. But you wouldn’t leave the house and the game would involve the player in more passive interactions with the objects inside. So in other words, no puzzles or enemies for the most part.

The clues would mostly be things like pictures, articles, diary entries, etc. From there the story would give you a hopefully a very bizarre impression of the town, the stories, the characters, and everything else around the home you’re searching through.

But my concern is, should I consider making a game that involves a little more interaction on the player’s part? Maybe change the setting to a mental hospital, add in enemies, puzzles, and stuff like that. I figured I’d do something like that anyway, but only after I got used to making text games.

What do you guys think?

Gone Home had puzzles, but easy ones. (Opening the locker, finding secret doors, getting into the attic.) The design of the house was intended to help you do some stuff before other stuff, to help the narrative unfold in roughly the right order.

If you know you want to work your way up to puzzles, put in some puzzles, but easy ones.