Magic Teleporting Items?

I’m trying to code a magic item which will mainly teleport the player from one area to another. These items are magic orbs which are always tied to specific locations, so they’ll always take the player to a certain room when used, but as a total novice to Inform, I have no clue how to set this up.

I also want the orbs to be automatically dropped when they’re used-- so that when the player uses one to teleport to another room, they leave the orb behind and drop it in whatever room they were just in, but this is secondary to the first issue of finding out how to actually make them teleport the player.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

This should do it:

The Orb Room is a room. "The Orb Room is full of glittering orbs of all sizes and colors." 

The Magic Kingdom is a room. "The magic of the orb has sent you to a magical realm. Talking mice and princesses are all around."

A magic orb is in the Orb Room.

Teleporting is an action applying to nothing. Understand "teleport" as teleporting.

Check teleporting: if the player does not hold the magic orb, say "You must first take the orb." instead.

Carry out teleporting:
	now the location contains the magic orb;
	move the player to the Magic Kingdom.

A note on containment: In Inform, “contains” is first-level containment, with no nesting. “Enclosed,” on the other hand, allows objects to be nested to any depth. So if the location “contains” the orb, the player does not hold the orb, but the location “encloses” the orb whether the player holds the orb or not.

3 Likes

I think that the “classical” SF teleport should be like an elevator with buttons on the outside (that is, the teleporter console, but perhaps the hard part in coding lies in the other direction… (“beam up, Scotty”…)

on the fantasy orbs, I think that should be like bi-directional doors between two fixed places.

of course, I admit that this is a “my two cents” reply…

Best regards from Italy,
dott. Piergiorgio.