Looking for advice for a young artist going freelance

Hi All,

I have a young artist at home looking into going freelance. She is looking at sites like fiverr and has some questions I cannot answer (my background is in IT.)

Any (professional) artist here who can give her some pointers? Some questions she has are:

1. How can she “rate” her own artwork? She sees varying prices for face/half body/full body artwork (she is interested in doing manga/anime style artwork), but she has no idea what to ask.

2. She is worried about commissions which might break copyright. People say e.g. fanart is basically illegal, but some copyright holders might allow for it under certain conditions. Now I can imagine drawing a Disney character like Mickey Mouse might be illegal, but what about drawing in the STYLE of Disney, i.e. it looks like Disney, but the characters are not relatable to any known work produced by Disney? Related to this, she sees a LOT of artwork which would break the rules on pinterest for example, so she has no idea what would be the best course for her to follow.

She is willing to share some sample artwork if someone thinks they can give some idea on what to aim for.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

2 Likes

Hi Onno! I’ve been a professional artist for over a decade, but I’m the kind of artist who sells art at art fairs. I haven’t sold a lot of art online.

I can answer questions about pricing, though. She should charge what the market will bear. When you start out as a visual artist (and usually forever), you will not make what your art is worth. She should look at what her peers are charging for similar-ish work and charge slightly lower and see if that’s working. Once she’s established a presence, she can raise prices accordingly. After 10 years, I sometimes sell pieces for over $1000, but I’ve yet to do that consistently, because the market fluctuates and tastes change, and artists have to adapt to that.