Looking at a room

I’m new to interactive fiction and to Inform. Loving it so far! But I have this simple thing I’m trying to do and I just can’t figure out how.

In a nutshell, I have a street, and a driveway. You’re standing on the street, and you can see the driveway to the North. The user wants to look at or examine the driveway.

How do I let them do that?

The street is a room.  "You are standing on the street.  There's a driveway to the North."  

The driveway is a room.  The driveway is north of the street.

When standing on the street, I want to say “look at the driveway” or “examine driveway”, but I get “You can’t see any such thing”.

I tried creating it as scenery but then there’s a naming conflict.

Thanks
– Steve

The easiest way to do it is to name the scenery object something else.

The driveway-scenery is scenery in the street. The description is "The driveway is to the north." The printed name is "driveway". Understand "driveway" as the driveway-scenery.

Another method is to allow looking at adjacent rooms, which is described in example 78 in chapter 6.14 of the manual.

That works, thanks - but there’s a complication. I’m using this:

Understand "go [any room]" as going by name. Understand "go to [any room]" as going by name.

Going by name is an action applying to one thing.

To let me say “go laneway”. With the laneway-scenery there, “go laneway” doesn’t work.

I tried the example in section 6.14 but I get this error when I attempt to use it:

Problem. You wrote ‘try looking toward the viewed item’ : but this is not an action I recognise, or else is malformed in a way I can’t see how to sort out.

GO [something] is a synonym for entering things, so you have to disable that functionality first.

Understand the command "go" as something new. Understand "go [direction]" as going. [this restores GO NORTH etc.]
Note that this has to be placed in the code before you define the going by name action, otherwise it too will be disabled.