Long lost

After ages away from the community I have returned to find the tools available to the community have dramatically changed. I downloaded what is apparently the current version of Inform 7 but find it unsatisfying.

I was looking at Twine, but when I tried putting effort into it, it’s like it’s designed to create a static story that doesn’t have real support for NPCs, conversations, or objects.

I was just now looking at the tutorial for Quest. Is Quest any good? I’ve never tried it before. I’d like a system that lets me create a game that supports NPCs that can have descriptions and potentially their own inventory, and I can have a resulting game run in a web browser.

And I’d like to do those things without jumping through a bunch of workarounds.

7 Likes

What in particular do you find unsatisfying about Inform 7? That’ll help us give you better answers.

4 Likes

I noticed you picked two very different categories of IF—parser (Inform) and choice (Twine, Quest). Do you have a preference? These two are essentially different genres/mediums, so knowing the difference is crucial.

I don’t have a ton of experience in any of these (I know some I7) but I think it will take some effort in all of them to create NPCs with their own inventories. Custom descriptions are easy in all three though. Again, I’m not the best source for this, but this is based on what I’ve seen from other games made with those systems.

If you want objects in particular, Inform 7 and other parser systems (e.g. Inform 6, TADS) will be more effective, simply because parser games are better-suited to object-based games. NPCs and conversations can and have been implemented in parser IF, so see if that’s something you’re interested in.

In choice systems, conversations are usually dialogue trees, with a prompt and some options with varying results. In parsers, conversations are usually one or a combination of:

• a dialogue tree (like choice)