Logic behind Curses! puzzles

For a few days now I’ve been playing Curses! and—judging from the hints I found on our forum—I have hardly scratched the game’s surface!!!

Anyway, I am not going to ask for new hints, but I would like to discuss the logic behind the puzzles that I’ve encountered so far.

I don’t intend to judge the logic and the quality of the puzzles or the game’s writing—I have nothing but awe and admiration for Graham Nelson’s work. The purpose of this post is to seek solidarity for puzzles that most of the time feel too tough for a newbie.

People are welcome to add what they’ve encountered, since I am a beginner to the game.

Hint Demon

The demon confuses me. I can’t say that he has given me any useful advice. Several of my ASK DEMON ABOUTs were met with him admitting that he is “not empowered to answer.”

Then, when I showed him the robot mouse, he said “It can’t even follow orders.” What is that supposed to mean? The robot mouse actually does follow orders—“MOUSE, GO WEST” etc. This hint actually confused me and I didn’t think about trying giving it instructions.

Postcard from Champs-Elysees

The fact that nothing is written on it tipped me about some invisible writing that could be triggered by something. So why not try the darkroom’s red light? It’s not UV, but it may just work. And it did.

But I don’t yet see why this postcard from Paris should contain clues about Hamburg. There must certainly be some backstory that explains this.

Sir Joshua

This is my favourite puzzle so far. It also makes a lot of sense.

After encountering the ghost of Sir Joshua on the roof, you can look him up in the book of the ancestors. There, you read that he (1) was greedy and guilty of wildly excessive living and (2) died when he choked on a chicken bone.