Listing Descriptions Of Items

Hello,

I’m new to developing IF and I am using Inform 7.
I’ve reached an impasse. After going through all documentation I can’t figure out why this works and doesn’t
I can examine an item from my table in game but as soon as I take it and then examine it it causes a run time error.

Would anyone have a clue why this doesn’t work?

The code I have is as follows:

[code]Table of Point Values Descriptions
item score description1 description2
toilet brush 5 “A toilet brush. It’s painted black by the manufacturer for a reason you know. If I was you I would not pay any attention to it.” “Spiky and plastic, exactly how I like my women.”
piece of tile 2 “It’s a tiny piece of tile about two inches long, looks sharp.” “This is a small piece of tile. It looks like it could cut something.”
floormat 1 "It’s rubbery on one side. Blue and fluffy on the other. " “A regular every day floor mat. It absorbs bath water that falls off your body. Oh it is also blue.”

a piece of tile is in the bathroom.
the floormat is in the bathroom.
a toilet brush is in the bathroom.
instead of examining the noun:
say “[if the turn count is even][the description1 corresponding to a item of the noun in the Table of Point Values Descriptions][otherwise][the description2 corresponding to a item of the noun in the Table of Point Values Descriptions][end if]”.

Report taking an item listed in the Table of Point Values Descriptions:
increase the score by the score entry;
blank out the whole row.[/code]

Output:

Table of Point Values Descriptions
item score description1 description2
toilet brush 5 “A toilet brush. It’s painted black by the manufacturer for a reason you know. If I was you I would not pay any attention to it.” “Spiky and plastic, exactly how I like my women.”
piece of tile 2 “It’s a tiny piece of tile about two inches long, looks sharp.” “This is a small piece of tile. It looks like it could cut something.”