Linux and Inform7

Hi folks,

Having a bit of trouble with Inform 7 on Debian. When I try to open a project, all of the folders are greyed-out in the file manager GUI. I already tried chmod +rwx on gnome-inform7, but no luck. I am thinking maybe inform does not have access to opening files with the default install, but I am new to Linux, too and having a bit of trouble figuring it out. If anyone has any hints, that would be great.

1 Like

Hi Matt, and welcome to the forum!

I’m not an expert in that area, but I remember that there have been some threads where people reported similar problems, and user @interactivefiction implemented several fixes and posted links to an updated build, I think.

Here are the pertinent threads:

and

Hope this helps (and of course, as I said, the credit is due to @interactivefiction) :slight_smile:

1 Like

Wow, thank you so much for the links. I’ll follow the threads and see if I can figure it out.

By the way, this is the most advanced forum software I have ever come across. So intuitive and easy to use. Any idea what it is?

2 Likes

Discourse! We switched to it pretty recently, and it’s made things orders of magnitude earlier on the moderating side, so I’m a big fan.

1 Like

Also, yeah, it’s a problem in the file picker, nothing with permissions. The hacky workaround is to create a symlink called ~/InformProjects.inform pointing to ~/Documents/Inform or whatever; the problem is that the file picker only lets you click on folders named *.inform, and it starts in ~, so by default there’s no way to get to where your Inform projects actually are.

2 Likes

Hi Matt-