Leaving a vehicle

I’m fairly new to Inform 7, but I love the natural language development.

My current issue is having the player in a car, and allowing the player to decide when they want to leave the car. I’m not a huge fan of using cardinal directions in every instance, so I want the player to be able to exit the car naturally.

I have written some code that works with ‘go outside’ and ‘exit the car’, but am having issues with ‘leave the car’.

example:

Instead of exiting when the player is in the car: say "You open the driver's side door and step out onto the gravel driveway. "; move the player to the driveway.

This code works fine for ‘exit’, but not for ‘exit the car’.

I really don’t want to have to resort to east or west when leaving a car is so fundamentally easy without having to move a cardinal direction. I have set up the driveway as a room not attached to the car by a direction.

Also, introducing a ‘door’ into the scenario requires me to connect ‘the driveway’ and ‘the car’.

Some guidance in this situation would be greatly appreciated.

In an empty project, the actions tab of the index lists leave'' as a synonym forexit’’, which in turn does not take a direct object. So neither exit the car'' norleave the car’’ should work unless you or an extension define a new action. See WI 12.7 and WI 16.2.

Have you defined the car as a room or as a vehicle? A vehicle is a container that the player can enter and drive from room to room (which you may not want if the car isn’t driveable in your game). From what you’ve said it kind of sounds like you’ve got the car as a separate room rather than an enterable vehicle or an enterable container; maybe having it as an enterable container/vehicle would work better for you.

If you have the car as a container/vehicle, you might try including the extension Modified Exit by Emily Short (this is already installed as a built-in extension). It includes this code:

[code]Section 1 - Leaving a named object