Keypress Text Replacement

The game I’m working on has sequences of translation, and I’d like to make the process intuitive, with as few keypresses as possible. I’m imagining superscript numbers denoting translatable words/phrases - when the player inputs the number, the phrase swaps to the next translation - so on for each phrase. When the translation is satisfactory, the player can hit Enter to lock it in and move on.

So, the text would be something like this:
There were adjoining¹ bridges² over the highway.³
And then I suppose there would be banks of options for each translatable phrase:

¹coupling, intersecting, multiple
²crossings, platforms, passages
³road, interstate

In this example, pressing the 1 key would swap “adjoining” with “coupling,” then “intersecting” etc.

I wanted to ensure I had the layout of gameplay down before I draft the text for these sections in detail, so I’m curious whether such a thing is possible (with or without extensions). I’m new to I7 and working with a (more competent) programmer, but at this early point in development it would be easier for me to rework this layout than to burden her with a potentially insurmountable problem.

2 Likes

Short answer - yup, that’s pretty easy to do, with or without extensions (if you do want to consider using extensions, Quip-Based Conversation by Michael Martin and Hybrid Choices by AW Freyr might be good places to start looking).

Long answer - will have to wait for some other time at least as far as I’m concerned, as my son’s first day at daycare is tomorrow and there are like a million things we need to pull together still. But I’m sure someone else will be along in the interim to share a demo - if not I’ll try to take a hack at it!

3 Likes

I’m disappointed that you’d prioritize a momentous occasion in your son’s life over this, but encouraged that a solution is over the horizon. (Good luck tomorrow!!)

2 Likes