James Purcells never ending question list.

I have a few question and need some help please.

Q1: I would like to have the player start in a carriage that stops outside a house. I would like the player to exit the carriage to start, but I can’t quite grasp writing this bit.

Q2: Scenes? - If a scene is placed, can it be used to take the player from one room to the next?

Q3: How does one write stairs as I can’t get them to work. How do I set it so that the player types “Climb Stairs” instead of “UP”?

Well that’s it for now. I am reading through the guides and books but still confused.

I’m new at this and quite possibly know less than you do about how to manage Inform 7.

That being said, I’ve managed to get something working for Q-2 and Q-3 without much trouble. Tip - get the hang of how rulebooks function as soon as possible. ifwiki.org/index.php/Inform_ … ust_Action It would have made my life a lot easier if I’d grasped some of these more quickly. In the case of the stairs, the idea is to block the usual rule of going to a room that’s connected to the room you’re in with an “instead” comment - which gives the player text rather than movement - and then defining a totally new action whose result is to put the player in the room you want them to be in. Although someone more sophisticated than me will have to figure out how you define climbing down the stairs in such a way that your code can parse “climb stairs” in either direction.

The recurring scenes stuff is handled in the textbook pretty clearly though.

The Big Room is a room. The Small Room is a room. The Round Room is a room. The Round Room is above the Big Room. The description of the Big Room is “There is an inviting staircase here that beckons you upwards.” The staircase is scenery. There is a staircase in the Big Room. The description of the staircase is “Just climb the stairs already.”

There is a MacGuffin in the Big Room.

CD flashback is a recurring scene.