Iterative names for variables

Twine Version: 2.3.7
Story Format: Sugarcube 2.31.1

So I’m new to both Twine and JS and I’m trying to figure out if it’s possible to create variables with iterative names. Something like (at least conceptually):

<<set $var[var_num] {
"name" : "blah"
}>>

Where [var_num] is another variable that increases by one every time you create such a new variable. So as you do this during the game you get $var001, $var002, etc.

The idea is to generate randomized NPCs with different names, appearances, backstories, and so on, creating a variable unique to each one, and to be able to do that indefinitely. I can create and set up these NPC objects at an individual level no problem, but I’ve been digging around and can’t figure out a way to set variable names other than hardcoding the whole thing in with <>, or if I’ve found it I don’t understand it well enough to recognize it.

I can see how you could get close by just manually making a giant list of, say, $npc001 to $npc999, popping it into StoryInit, and then just randomizing their attributes when they come into the story rather than actually creating a new variable, but I imagine there’s a much more efficient way of doing that, (which maybe also doesn’t leave you with a maximum number).

Thanks! And apologies if I’m coming at this entirely wrongheadedly, lol.

What you’re describing is basically an array. So you could do that like this:

<<set $NPC = []>> /* Initialize the array */
<<set $NPC.push( { name: "Anne", HP: 100 } )>> /* Add $NPC[0] data. */
<<set $NPC.push( { name: "Bob", HP: 100 } )>> /* Add $NPC[1] data. */
<<set $NPC.push( { name: "Charlie", HP: 100 } )>> /* Add $NPC[2] data. */

You can then access that data like this:

NPC name: <<= $NPC[0].name>>

Which would print out: NPC name: Anne

So you might want to read up on how to use arrays at the link I gave above.