instead of moving - not working, or special case?

I’m new to inform, and forgive me if this is a repost (I searched but couldn’t find the topic). I have this code:

moving is an action applying to one thing. understand “move [something]” as moving.

the cell is a room.

The secret cache is a container in the cell. " Your secret cache is hidden behind a loose stone.". understand “cache”, “hole”, “stone”, “loose stone” as secret cache.

an escape plan is in the secret cache.

instead of moving the secret cache: try searching secret cache.

when executed, the command ‘move stone’ returns ‘nothing obvious happens.’ instead of listing the contents of the secret cache. I’ve implemented the same exact logic for an action called ‘looking behind’ and it works fine. Why not for moving?

The command “move [x]” already carries a meaning. It’s synonymous with “push”. In some cases, you might want to abolish the old command before giving it a new meaning. That can be done by making it refer to “something new”:

Understand the command "move" as something new.

In this instance though, there’s no need to change things that much. As “move” already redirects to “push”, you could do this instead:

The Cell is a room.

The secret cache is a container in the cell. "Your secret cache is hidden behind a loose stone." Understand "cache", "hole", "stone", "loose stone" as secret cache. It is fixed in place.

An escape plan is in the secret cache.

Instead of pushing or pulling the secret cache: try searching secret cache.[/code]

You can also use this method of combined actions to make it easier on the player:

[code]The Cell is a room.

The secret cache is a container in the cell. It is openable and closed. "Your secret cache is hidden behind a loose stone[if the cache is open] most of the time. Right now it's open, revealing [a list of things in the cache] inside[end if]." Understand "cache", "hole", "stone", "loose stone" as secret cache. It is fixed in place.