inform7 problems - combat and machines

hello all,

im new to inform7 and im learning as i go…

i have a couple of issues that are stopping me writing a quick game, if anyone can help that would be great!

Combat - i would like a man in a room who will attack you with random hits - but i dont know how…

Machines - i would like also a machine with levers or buttons , for example a machine with 3 levers , one lever opens a door?

thank you all

:slight_smile:

The ATTACK extension (I believe the latest version is here: http://gamingphilosopher.blogspot.com/2011/04/attack-inform-attack-version-2-released.html) is worth a look for combat purposes. There are other ways to do it, of course! Consider, too, whether you genuinely want random attacks - are you willing to end the game for certain unlucky players? Even if it means they may not replay?

You may find the documentation about parts of things instructive, as well as that on devices. Here’s a simple example that unlocks and opens a door when you pull a lever.

[code]The Machine Room is a room. The Main Lab is a room. The steel door is east of the Machine Room and west of the Main Lab. The steel door is a door. The steel door is lockable and locked.

The heavy lever is in the Machine Room.

Instead of pulling the heavy lever:
if the steel door is locked or the steel door is closed:
say “There is a click from the steel door and it slides open.”;
otherwise:
say “You pull the lever, but nothing happens.”;
now the steel door is unlocked;
now the steel door is open;

test me with “e / pull lever / e”[/code]

thank you for the quick response, as for random combat , i mean random hit points to within a limited range

ive just tried to test that by copying it but i get this error?