Inform DOORS help

I’m a new coder getting to grips with Inform. The documents, user examples and answers in this forum provide a wealth of helpful guidance as I take my first tentative steps but I’ve got a bit stuck with doors.

I have a spacecraft made up of several pods and between those pods I want hatches (doors). At some point I will want all of them to be locked but will definitely want to lock and unlock them individually.

For my doors/hatches to be unique I guess I have to give them all unique names when I create them?

Then, when I’m in a pod like ‘The Galley’ I can reference whether I want the hatch to the ‘Rec Room’ to open or the hatch to the ‘Workshop’ to open.

…I’m slowly getting to my real question based on the above understanding!

Can a door have a different name from opposite sides?

If I’m in the Galley can I say “open Rec Room hatch” but, if I’m in the Rec Room, say “open Galley hatch” (to control the same door from the different directions)?

I tried simply creating a door called ‘Hatch A’ and creating different descriptions for it from the different rooms but, when I perform an action on it it says the actual hatch name, e.g.,

>open hatch
You open Hatch A.

What I would like to be able to do is, from the Galley say,
>open rec room hatch
You open the Rec Room hatch.

And, for the same door from the opposite side (in the Rec Room), be able to say,
>open galley hatch
You open the Galley hatch.

Is this possible?

1 Like

Yes! Try this.

Throughness relates a door (called X) to a room (called Y) when the other side of X from the location is Y.
The verb to access means the throughness relation.

A hatch is a kind of door.
The printed name of a hatch is usually "[a random room accessed by the item described] hatch".
Understand "[something related by throughness]" as a hatch.
4 Likes