Inform 7 grammar

I’m not a professional programmer, and I have to say I’m struggling quite a bit with Inform 7. I have some experience of language learning though, and got this rather diffuse idea: how about if someone wrote an Inform 7 reference grammar, something along the lines af Wheelock’s Latin? If it’s already been done, I’d appreciate a link.

Perhaps either this: inform7.com/learn/man/Rex317.html ?

Thanks, but this stuff isn’t very intuitive, at least not to me.

I have some BASIC experience. Do you think Inform 6 or TADS 3 (ah, those numerals!) would be more up my alley?

You might find the Inform 7 Cheat Sheet useful: http://user.cs.tu-berlin.de/~moreiser/inform/Inform7_CheatSheet.pdf

Inform 6 and TADS are in the vein of ”traditional” programming languages (though more like C than BASIC). Do have a look and see if you prefer any of them.

This, for what it’s worth, is a word of sympathy from another beginner (i.e. still at the “clutching the brow and reaching for the help index” stage with Inform 7).

When it came to trying decide which IF development system to use, for me my choice had to be one of the major players — I6, I7, or TADS3. I did look at others, but… not my scene. So I looked carefully at the “big three”.

TADS3 I quickly rejected. However if (unlike me) you actually enjoy programming in a language that’s C-ish , then your decision could be quite different. But I think you implied that you were a BASIC man? — in which case… maybe not.

Hence for me it quite quickly became a choice of I6 or I7 — with a bias towards I6 because I have looked at it before, and hence I already have on my bookshelf “The Inform Beginner’s Guide” and also “The Inform Designer’s Manual”. (Looking at on-screen manuals may be tree-friendly, but I’m prejudiced in favour of flipping pages made of real paper).