Indexed text loses formatting information

Hi everyone –
I’m very new to Inform, and I must say I’m having a blast with it. Unfortunately I seem to be doing things the wrong way and/or being too demanding of the system (most likely the former).

The design goal I had in this particular scene is to have certain texts change dynamically according to a global state. That is, performing actions on certain objects would output some constant base text – but as the player performs these actions, each printout would get more and more “corrupted”. The “corruption level” is a property of The Stasis, our current scene. This value is incremented whenever a trigger action occurs.

To achieve this text behavior, I made a new phrase called “corrupted say”:

To corrupted say (original - indexed text):
	Let replacements be words in row (corruption level of the stasis) of the Table of Word Substitutions;
	Let count be number of words in original;
	Let already-chosen be {0};
	Repeat with rep running through replacements:
		Let ran be 0;
		While ran is listed in already-chosen: [no duplicates]
			Let ran be a random number from 1 to count;
		Add ran to already-chosen;
		Replace word number ran in original with rep;
	Say original;

This is pretty slow. But that’s not what bothers me – it’s the fact that all my formatting is gone! In text passed to this phrase (“original”), I want to use things like [italic type]. As soon as indexed text is used, this is eradicated from the world.

Furthermore, when using Parchment, even [paragraph break] doesn’t work. Instead, I get two asterisks **.

I tried using regular expressions to add my own symbols for paragraph breaks and have them Say’d. This slows things down greatly, and I was using up all the memory.

Is there a more elegant way to achieve this? If it were just one object being “corrupted”, I could probably use [say phrases].

Thanks for your help!!
-Eli