Incapacitated player being moved through rooms?

Hi folks. I’m new to Inform7, and finding it really interesting but hard to wrap my programmer-brain around in some parts.

One thing I’m trying to do: start the game with the player physically immobilized - able to do things like look around and speak, but unable to move. I can kinda do this with:

Instead of going in the Starting Room, say "You attempt to move, but you seem to be immobilized."

which works, but it repeats that sentence every time. Question #1: How would I display one such message the first time, and a second, different message all subsequent times the player tries to move?

Question #2: During this time of immobilization, the player will be slowly recovering consciousness, which changes the description of the rooms they’re in. I do this with:

At 7:01PM: now the description of the Starting Room is "Things appear clearer as you recover consciousness.  You notice blah blah blah"

and then another similar statement for 7:02PM, etc. This seems to work, except for the fact that time elapses strangely in the first two turns. When play begins 7:00PM, a single “wait” command says “Time passes”, when it seems like the time should have elapsed to 7:01 and displayed the next message. After that, one “wait” seems to reliably elapse one minute. Any idea why?

During this time of immobilization, the player will be wheeled through a series of rooms on a gurney. My best guess for how to do this right now is:

At 7:04 PM:
	say "A nurse wheels your bed into Room 4117.";
	now the player is in Room 4117;
	now the hospital bed is in Room 4117.

Question #3: are there any downsides to this approach, effectively teleporting the player into each new room? I’m realizing that Inform7 provides a lot of ways for representing state and state transitions, and I’m unclear on how much fakery to use versus actual systemic rigor (the classic level design question).