Image able to update after a event happens

I am new to Inform 7 and I am currently reading Aaron Reed’s book ‘Creating Interactive Fiction with Inform 7’. So I have a little understanding of Inform 7. So here goes the question. If I have a image showing what the room looks like (using the multimedia extension) and the image has the objects that are listed in the room description and I take a item away can I have it so the image updates as well? Basically showing in the image that the item is no longer there. If I need to clarify more I would be happy to do so.

Thank You
InsertCoin25

First, decide exactly what sorts of things you want to change the image. Then, use a rule that will apply to those circumstances. For example, if you just want to change the image when the player takes a certain thing, it’s as simple as After taking the whatever-it-is: [tab][code to change the image, specific to the extension you're using]; [tab]continue the action. Whereas if you want to be sure that any action that removes the whatever-it-is from the room triggers the image change (whether it’s taken by a Non Player Character, or it melts away, or someone hides it in a box), you might want something more like Every turn: [tab]if the whatever-it-is is not in the room-it-was-in: [tab][tab][image-changing code, as before] So if you can be more specific about the conditions provoking the change, that might be enough to make it easier for you to find your answer in the documentation, and it will definitely help us give you a less-buggy answer.

Thanks for the reply tove. Example of condition: Player takes hammer off the table (image updates to show hammer is no longer on table). Another condition after taking hammer: Player uses hammer on a vase (destroying the vase) image updates again showing the vase destroyed and hammer not on table. I hope this helps a little.

Thanks
InsertCoin25