IFComp Dilemma

Hey All-
So I’m bopping all the little bugs on the head in preparation for submitting my game to IFcomp, and I’ve run into a dilemma.

I did a poor job with one of my unique verbs when I wrote the game (so many “instead ofs”). Now that I have been using Inform 7 for all of 5 months and am so much wiser, I can see a much better and cleaner way to implement it.

It’s unlikely that it will cause a problem, and if it does cause a problem, it will be because someone does something totally unexpected that no testers have done. And it might cause a very minor spoiler if someone monkeys with it enough.

It’s a little over 2 weeks until the Comp deadline, and I’m toying with the idea of fixing this. But of course, I know that every time I fix something, I create more problems. And I’ve already had 2 rounds of beta testers and don’t want to ask for more just to find any problems I create if I fix this now.

Bottom line: the game works. It’s unlikely that my poor decisions will cause problems, but it’s possible, especially if I get a mischievous judge.

Is it the worst idea ever to try and rework this now?

It’s a pretty poor idea, yes.

3 Likes

Thought so. Sigh.

1 Like

Recognizing and avoiding bad ideas is commendable!

3 Likes

If you’re working on a big, long project for a long time, it can be worthwhile to refactor and improve sections of code. A big time expenditure up front will produce savings in the long run, as well as letting you write cleaner, more legible code, which will help you expand and maintain it over time.

But in this case, you don’t have an indefinite time period; you have an upcoming and imminent hard deadline. So, you’re better off making notes of ways to improve it, and rolling that into your next project, where you can start clean from scratch the “right” way.

1 Like

Do it!

Plan B: You can always hand in the code as it is.