IF with 'soundtracks' feasible?

I’ve been thinking for some time how fun it would be write the score and create the foleys for a text adventure. Graphics can kill the imagination but, at least for me, sound is a lot more evocative and alive, and WAY simpler to create. Plus my imagination is mostly graphical, not sonic.
(I’m using IF to pre-design a graphical point-n-click but I may never make it past the IF stage :slight_smile:
I’m implying that the sound is only for mood, not actual activity that would fight with the text for attention. I imagine footsteps and creaking doors is the most you could get away with.

Anyway, while being unemployed with tons of time on my hands, I started learning I7 and discovered with excitement that the basis for audio is available. (glulx and Multiple Sounds by Massimo Stella, for now)

My fantasy game to score would have to be Anchorhead, although the source would have to be available and convertible to glulx. Authors could have an audio artist ‘score’ their game if they are not multimedia skilled like some DIY types.

Anyway, I keep reading about memory limitations and such, despite living in a tera-byte world!
Does this sound feasible? I already made a simple two-room example and even Stella’s (limited) extension demonstrates the concept well.
But a full-sized game would have a CD’s worth of audio files. That seems ok to me when compared to mainstream PC games but maybe there is a major stumbling block with interpreters or performance?
I would not hesitate to require a player to use a specific interpreter to enjoy the game with sound.
(even better: I originally envisioned something that would be literally driven by the text of the console ie an external app that monitors the console text and is programmed to make sounds based on interpreting that text. Room banners being an obvious starting point. Then anybody could add sounds to existing compiled games.)